Close this search box.

Management Committee

Patron of CCJ Academy for Law

The Hon. Mr. Justice Adrian Saunders

President of The Caribbean Court of Justice

The Hon. Mr. Justice Adrian Saunders, a native of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of the West Indies (Cave Hill) in 1975 and a Legal Education Certificate from the Hugh Wooding Law School in Trinidad & Tobago in 1977. He began his legal career as a barrister and solicitor in private practice in his home country.

In 2005, Mr. Justice Saunders was among the first cohort of judges to join the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) bench. Mr. Justice Saunders has contributed greatly to regional judicial outreach and judicial education efforts. He is a founding member of the Caribbean Association of Judicial Officers (CAJO) and has served as the organization’s Chairman since its inception in 2009.He became President of the Caribbean Court of Justice on 4 July 2018.

CCJ Academy for Law Management Committee

The Hon Mr Justice Winston Charles Anderson


Mr Justice Winston Charles Anderson LLB (UWI), PhD (Cantab), is a Jamaican national and barrister of the Honourable Society of Lincoln’s Inn who has also been called to the Bar of Barbados and Jamaica. He was appointed Professor of International Law at the University of the West Indies in 2006 after lecturing there for eighteen years. Professor Anderson was elevated to the Bench of the Caribbean Court of Justice on 15 June 2010 at a ceremony at Kings House, Jamaica, presided over by the Governor General, Sir Patrick Allen. Justice Anderson has a long record of contribution to regional integration. His academic career at the University of the West Indies included stints as Head of the Teaching Department of Law and Deputy Dean in the Faculty of Law. He served as General Counsel of the Caribbean Community Secretariat during the period 2003-2006, as Executive Director of the Caribbean Law Institute Centre and has been legal adviser to various institutions and governments in the region.

Justice Anderson is a globally recognized authority on private international law and environmental law. His major publications include: The Law of Caribbean Marine Pollution, (Kluwer Law International, Netherlands, 1997); Principles of Caribbean Environmental Law, (Environmental Law Institute, Washington, 2012; and Caribbean Private International Law (Sweet & Maxwell, London, 2014). He is a founding member of the International Advisory Council of the United Nations Environment Programme whose mandate is to act as a global voice for environmental sustainability. He is also a member of the advisory commission on environmental law to the Organization of American States, and a member of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean’s Group of Experts on Principle 10.

Gabrielle Figaro-Jones

Registrar and Chief Marshal

Caribbean Court of Justice

Shivanand Ramnanan

Senior Manager Corporate Administration

Caribbean Court of Justice

Ria Mohammed-Pollard

Communication and Information Manager

Caribbean Court of Justice

Mr. John Coombs was born in St. Vincent and the Grenadines on 26 September 1993. He is a graduate of the St. Vincent Grammar School and the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Community College. He holds an LL.B. and an LL.M. Legislative Drafting, both from the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados.

In 2019 he was awarded an LEC from the Hugh Wooding Law School, Trinidad and Tobago, and that same year, was called to the Bar of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, St. Vincent and the Grenadines Circuit. Mr. Coombs is certified by WIPO Academy, Geneva, Switzerland, in Intellectual Property Arbitration and Mediation, and in International Trademark Registration.

Mr. Coombs currently serves as Judicial Counsel in the Chambers of The Honourable Mr. Justice Winston Anderson, and also as the CCJ Academy for Law’s Corporate Secretary. In addition to his casework portfolio at the court, he has executed projects in collaboration with several regional and international bodies, including: CARICOM, PAHO, UNDP, CDB, UWI and HWLS. He is the current Chairman of the Caribbean Public Health Law Forum Steering Committee.

CCJ Judicial Counsel

CCJ Academy for Law Corporate Secretary

Nneka Onuoha

Administrative Assistant (Judicial)

Caribbean Court of Justice